History of the 
North Carolina Federation of Republican Women
Kay Wildt 2021-
Pat C Smith 2017-2021
Zan Bunn 2013-2017
Dena Barnes 2009-2013
Valerie White 2007-2009
Martha Jenkins 2004-07
Susan Mills, 2001-03 
Lucretia Hanks, 1999-01 
Nancy Mazza, 1997-99  
Marcia M. Spiegel, 1995-97 
Dottie W. Salerno, 1993-95 
Virginia Raines, 1991-93 
Margaret King, 1989-91 
Iris Dlugos, 1987-89 
Joyce Glass, 1985-87 
Elinor Swaim, 1983-85 
Marie Ledbetter, 1981-83 
Vivian Harris, 1979-81 

Past presidents include: 
Kay Wildt
President NCFRW
Barbara Boyce, 1977-79 ​
Ginger H. Alexander, 1975-77
Alma Tilghman, 1973-75 
Mary Alice Warren, 1971-73 
Marie Rowe, 1969-71 
Anne Hickman, 1966-69 
Robenia Smith, 1965-66 
Frances Yow, 1963-65 
Roxie Simpson, 1961-63 
Helen Verbyla, 1959-61 
Hila Straten, 1956-59 
Emma Lassiter, 1955-56 
Lesslie Koontz, 1955 
Tressie Fletcher, 1953-1955 
Kathleen Teague, 1953 
Ann Hickman (founding)
The North Carolina Federation of Republican Women affiliated with the NFRW in 1953. Our "roots" began during the victorious campaigns of President Eisenhower and North Carolina Congressman Jonas in 1952. Fourteen unit clubs were represented at the first convention held in Hickory, NC on April 11, 1953. Those clubs were Alexander County, Buncombe County, Burke County, Caldwell County, Catawba County, Charlotte-Mecklenburg, Forsyth County, Henderson County, Jackson County, Madison County, Polk County, Sampson County, Transylvania County and Wake County.

North Carolina Federated women were highly visible in North Carolina's first two gubernatorial victories. In 1973, James E. Holshouser Jr. was sworn-in as the first Republican governor of the century, and James G. Martin was the second in 1984. In 2013, Pat McCrory was sworn in as the third Republican governor in the modern era.

We have continued this legacy as NCFRW aggressively assisted with the elections of Congresswomen Sue Myrick from Charlotte and Virginia Foxx from Boone, and U.S. Sen. Elizabeth Dole from Salisbury. In 2002, NCFRW members are praised for their efforts in the election of seven Republican U.S. House of Representatives out of 13 districts and our two Republican U.S. senators. Linda Shaw, former national committeewoman, was applauded for her presence at the national level as a Federated woman. In 2006, a Federated Republican woman, Jean Preston, was the only Republican in North Carolina to defeat a sitting Democrat.

By 2012, NCFRW ably assisted with the elections of Congresswomen Virginia Foxx and Renee Ellmers, NC Labor Commissioner Cherie Berry, along with three Republican women to the NC Court of Appeals and Supreme Court. NCFRW has sent thirteen (13) women to the NC House and six (6) women to the NC Senate. Dr. Ada Fisher was elected North Carolina National Committeewoman in 2008.

In 2016, we worked hard to elect a Republican President, Republican Senator, Republicans at every level, and expose the assault on American values.

​NCFRW has five regions and annually over 40 clubs. Our goal continues to be informing, educating and training our members to be activists and candidates. Our web site helps provide members across our state with the resources to be an effective leader. Club presidents and members stay connected statewide through our monthly e-newsletters and Legislative emails, and have immense influence with the residents in each community by being informed on the issues. NCFRW has been praised for our leadership action in community service and leadership positions at the local and state party levels. Our RISE program offers measurable results to encourage clubs to be active and increase membership.

Through our Caring for America program, NCFRW has raised more than $20,000 in scholarship funds for children of American servicemen killed in the war. NCFRW established a scholarship funded by personal contributions to assist teachers across our state on behalf of our former first lady, Dottie Martin. The Dottie Martin Teachers Scholarship Fund supports future educators with a $500 scholarship for multiple applicants annually. The Honorary Life Member program began in 1963 to recognize women leaders that have provided outstanding services to the Republican Party, with unit clubs recommending their nominees to the NCFRW. Our Tribute to Women programs honors each club's exceptional leaders.

Each year, the Federation will continue to make a difference at the grassroots level on the issues that affect our state, strive to increase our membership and work towards supporting our Republican candidates on the local, state and federal level. Our state ranks regularly near or at the top of all categories of NFRW accomplishments.

Freedom and liberty, as defined by our founders and Constitution, are the foundation of our past present and future.

Copyright  North Carolina Federation of Republican Women - All Rights Reserved 
Mission Statement 

The North Carolina Federation of Republican Women’s (NCFRW) mission is to positively impact our state and nation, while strengthening our Republican Party through recruiting, educating, training, supporting, and electing Republicans.